How to Delete a Spotify Free or Premium Account

Grace's user avatar
Grace
February 21, 2024

Spotify, with over 527 million monthly active users globally, including 210 million paying subscribers as of March 2023, is one of the largest music streaming service providers. However, the competition in the music streaming market is rough. It’s no surprise if you want to try out Spotify alternatives and delete your Spotify account. If you are looking for instructions on how to delete your Spotify account permanently, here is a well-briefed guide on how to do so.

Contents

How to permanently delete a Spotify account

To close your Spotify account and delete your data, you need to use the browser. You can’t delete your account with the mobile or desktop Spotify apps.

It is important to note that while you close your Spotify account and delete your data, all your followers, likes, and playlists will also be deleted; your username cannot be used again with Spotify; and you’ll lose access to any purchased audiobooks.

Follow the steps below if you are sure to permanently delete your Spotify account and data.

First, you need to visit the “Closing your account and deleting your data” page from the Spotify website. Here you can find how to terminate an account for Spotify Premium and Free users.

Spotify premium and free users

Delete your Spotify Premium account

If you are a Premium member of Spotify, you can use Spotify’s automated service to close your account and delete your data.

Step 1. Click on the “Close your account and delete your data” link under “Got Premium?

close account and delete data

Step 2.  Click the “Close my account and delete my data” button and you will be redirected to the Spotify automated service chat page.

confirm

Step 3. Follow the instructions on the Spotify chat page. You will need to double-confirm your account information and your intention to delete the account. Upon confirmation, Spotify will send you a “CLOSE MY ACCOUNT” email.

Step 4. Go to your email inbox and find the mail from Spotify. Click the “CLOSE MY ACCOUNT” button to complete the closing of your account. Once done, Spotify will send you a confirmation email with a link to reactivate your account within 7 days.

check your email

Delete your Spotify Free account

If you are a Spotify free user, and you want to close your account and delete your data on Spotify, use the following instructions.

Step 1. By clicking the link “Closing your account and deleting your data” under “Don’t have Premium?“, you will be redirected to a new page to start your five-step CLOSE ACCOUNT procedures.

close account as free users

Step 2. Click Close Account to start the procedures of deleting your Spotify account.

close account

Step 3. Double-confirm your account information and what you need to know upon deleting your account. Click Continue, and Spotify will send you a “CLOSE MY ACCOUNT” email.

Step 4. Go to your email inbox and find the email from Spotify. Click the “CLOSE MY ACCOUNT” button to complete the closing of your account.

click link from the email

Once done, Spotify will send you a confirmation email with a link to reactivate your account within 7 days. You’ve finished all the close account procedures so you won’t be able to log in anymore. You can always create a new account if you want to use Spotify again without reactivating the old account.

Can I reactivate my deleted Spotify account?

Yes, you can recover your deleted Spotify account if you change your mind, but only within seven days of deletion. After this time frame, Spotify will permanently delete your account and erase all associated data.

To reactivate your deleted account within the seven-day grace period, check your email inbox for a message from Spotify sent after you deleted your account. Click on the reactivation link provided in that email to restore your Spotify account.

If you are unable to retrieve your previous Spotify account, you can always create a new one if you wish. You can also use the same email address to create a new account after 14 days from the date of closing your account.

How to cancel your Spotify Premium Subscription?

Sometimes you may only want to cancel your premium subscription but continue using Spotify Free, then follow the steps below to cancel your Spotify Premium plan on your account page.

  1. Log into spotify.com/account.
  2. Click Manage Your Plan under Account.
manage your spotify plan

  1. Click Change Plan, then scroll down to Spotify Free and click Cancel Premium.
cancel premium

Your Premium membership stays until your next billing date, then your account switches to free.

After canceling your Premium subscription, you can still log in to your account. You can also access your playlists and saved music, but when you listen to the music, there will be ads played between songs.

How to enjoy Spotify after deleting your account?

You can download Spotify music to MP3 files in advance so you can still listen to them after canceling your Spotify account. For this purpose, the best choice is this user-friendly software tool – Pazu Spotify Converter.

With Pazu Spotify Converter, you can download pretty much anything on Spotify for offline listening, including specific songs, full albums, playlists, and podcasts even with Spotify free. It can extract Spotify music and convert it to MP3, M4A, AIFF, WAV, FLAC, and AAC. With Pazu Spotify Music Converter, you can easily enjoy any Spotify Premium feature within a free account forever.

Key features of Pazu Spotify Converter:

  • Download Spotify songs, albums, playlists, and podcasts with either Spotify’s free or premium account.
  • Built-in Spotify web player, no Spotify app needed.
  • Download Spotify to MP3 in 320kbps.
  • Multiple output formats: MP3, M4A, AAC, FLAC, WAV, and AIFF.
  • Keep all ID3 tags.
  • Rename Spotify songs with titles, albums, artists, etc.
  • Archive downloaded songs by album or artist.
  • Multilingual interface.

Download Pazu Spotify Converter on your Mac or Windows